It’s a recipe that I’ve been cooking for many years; however, this year I made one change to this staple dish of ours, and the result was beyond amazing! Sign up for the free Just One Cookbook newsletter delivered to your inbox! . If you are looking for a non-turkey dish for a smaller get-together, I recommend this easy braised chicken recipe for a small party. … 2 Add remaining oil to pan and return to medium heat. Add soy sauce, cover and cook gently 20 minutes or until chicken is tender. Good Luck! Refresh oil if needed. Yeah I think it’ll work! Limit one entry per person. Hi Nami–yes, they corrected it after I asked them too. And stay in touch with me on Facebook, Pinterest, YouTube, and Instagram for all the latest updates. How does it differ from Hikari in terms of taste? Good luck Libby! Hi Mariko! We recommend serving this dish with some green salad! Hi Kristi! . The recipe originally called for a whole free range chicken, to be braised with dried … Hope you enjoy the recipe! Sure you can make ahead of time. Top with egg and … I get hungry simply thinking about it. . It marinates and tenderizes the meat and can be used to season fish and vegetables (read more about it here). Hi Carol, Shio Koji and Miso are different, and it will change the flavor of this dish if you use the Miso. Add onion to pan; cook until soft, 6–8 minutes. Add more water while cooking, if needed (if the liquid evaporates - you're simmering in liquid here). Add daikon and stir. We were out of shio koji and had no oregano or rosemary, but even without them this was, as my family commented, “restaurant quality.” We used russet potatoes and they broke down a bit, combining with the flour to give this a stew-like feel, perfect for a chilly evening. Take from freezer the night before you wish to serve and allow to thaw in fridge. I visited a local Japanese grocery here in Manila yesterday and to my pleasant surprise found and immediately bought a bottle of Hanamaruki shio kouji. Hi Tom! Thank