[–]Ravinac100% maximum no chill! Image: flickr. [–]demintheAF 0 points1 point2 points 4 years ago (5 children). The same for pilots after they hit the 10 year mark, in order to make full bird they are going to need to do a DC tour and war college. [–]pawnman99Specializing in catastrophic landscaping 3 points4 points5 points 4 years ago (33 children). This will be his last memory in Minot, "look at me, I just graduated Tech School and I'm a WEATHER EXPERT!!". The average U.S. Air Force salary ranges from approximately $37,492 per year for Cryptologic Linguist to $119,933 per year for Attorney. Airlines such as Delta, American Airlines, and United have things to offer pilots such as more time home, better pay and a better quality of life than within the Air Force. The world is going cyber. The high-dollar retention pay is an incentive to stay, there really isn't more understanding than that. Because the alternative is to lose all the experience and be completely unable to train any new fighter pilots. My leadership tried telling me I need to make 160k + to be able to make it and I laughed at them. You control cyber space because literally everything is done there now. Here's the deal. And if we keep losing the O-4, O-5 level expertise, our strength rapidly declines. [–]thegreyhoundness 9 points10 points11 points 4 years ago (0 children). The Air Force would never go this way... Rickover didn't even have the pull to make all his nuke operators officers. The Navy does this for their Nukes, because of the sea/shore rotation. That's not a "transitional" career. Maybe if they allowed more enlisted to transition to officer this wouldn't be a problem. Motivated hackers can't override the controls of an F-15 or B-1. [–]gummybearwarfareThe mythical 1B4 52 points53 points54 points 4 years ago (32 children). Combat hours? 4 points5 points6 points 4 years ago (1 child). Well, that might make us feel better, but it doesn't exactly solve the problem. Here in this article, I will sh